Logo du disclamer
Pour visiter ce site vous devez avoir l'âge légal pour acheter et consommer de l'alcool. S'il n'existe pas de législation à cet égard dans votre pays, vous devez être âgé de 18 ans au moins.
L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé, à consommer avec modération.

Chronicles

October 2021. I propose you a report of the Cognac Connection Challenge

New York-based drinks writer, Amanda Schuster has been following the 2020 edition of the Cognac Connection Challenge. This competition was created to support US bartenders during the pandemic and give them the opportunity to share their passion for mixing with cognac.

It’s surprising that when asked to name a cognac cocktail, most people will only identify a Sidecar or a French 75, maybe a Stinger. Considering the multifaceted nature of the cognac category, it deserves just as much recognition for its versatility in a variety of mixed drinks as it does for its diversity in styles between producers and regions. In a year that’s seen more than its share of tragedy, at least 2020 could be the year for a new classic cognac cocktail.

In October, the Bureau National Interprofesionnel du Cognac (BNIC) with its US partner agency, Teuwen Communications, announced the results of the Cognac Connection Challenge bartender competition. The challenge – which was co-sponsored by VinePair and Speed Rack – was created to support the bartending industry during the pandemic while also giving entrants a chance to share their passion for cognac and highlight its mixability by creating unique cognac-based recipes. The contest drew over 120 participants, and the ten winning bartenders will receive a $1,000 stipend and a virtual trip experience to Cognac, France. As contestants prepared to rev their cognac-inspired ingenuities, they attended cognac-focused virtual seminars, which were led by esteemed Cognac Educators such as Franky Marshall and Kellie Thorn.

“Outside comfort zones”

The expert judge panel included Cognac Educator and Hugh Acheson Restaurants (Athens & Atlanta, Georgia) Beverage Director Kellie Thorn, VinePair spirits writer Tim McKirdy, as well as Speed Rack co-founders Ivy Mix (co-owner of Leyenda, New York) and Lynette Marrero (Bar Director of Llama Inn, New York). “The comp offered a unique education that had great attendance,” says Marrero. “That shows that category specific training is still very popular.” She adds that with fewer shifts, many bartenders have sought ways to in effect go “back to school”, and that having 10 scholarship prizes seemed to encourage more contestants to sign up.

The educational aspect of the competition resonated with bartenders beyond the participation requirements. Ivy Mix says she received many messages with positive feedback about the seminars. “People are learning! People are experimenting!” she says. “I really think people are educating themselves about cognac beyond its image and beyond brand labels. There is so much diversity and so much to know in terms of mixing cocktails or just drinking it neat.”

Tim McKirdy also observed an overwhelmingly positive reaction to the seminars, saying that, “it seemed to spur contestants on to take a real deep dive into the category – looking at different styles, individual producers, and where they’re based – and in some instances work outside their comfort zones based upon what they’d learned.”

The Cognac Connection Cocktail Challenge required that the recipe entries use cognac as the primary spirit and use no more than six total ingredients, including garnish, that are widely accessible. These fairly open rules allowed for a wide swath of inventiveness.

As a judge, Tim McKirdy observed there was a decidedly culinary approach to many of the recipes. “House-made syrups and infusions have obviously been part of cocktail creation for a while now, but I was really impressed to see so many contestants dial into specific tasting notes from their chosen cognac, and build the drink around that with proprietary creations.” He also noticed some of the bartenders leaning on atypical flavor profiles by using ingredients like saline solutions, or other more savory components. “As a former chef, this is an approach I always like to see in cocktails,” he says. “I think it shows a real understanding of balance and appreciation of the base spirit. This ‘culinary’ theme that I noticed struck me as fitting, given the intrinsic link between food and beverage in France.”

Covid-19 health and safety restrictions have curtailed most of the typical interactions between customer and bartender that would normally occur with people sitting at the bar and dialoguing about the drinks being prepared. This interaction often results in spontaneous off-menu personalized creations, and the absence of this facet of bar culture is a profound loss. However, a contest such as this one not only helps struggling bartenders monetarily, it gives them a chance to flex some of those creative muscles that might have lain dormant for so many months. Ivy Mix, who notes an uptick on cognac-based cocktail orders at Leyenda, concurs and says, “Contests like this allow bartenders to show that we/they are still being creative and still creating. We show our fellow bartenders and [this passes on to] our patrons! It’s a great opportunity.”

The 10 winning bartenders

Meghann Allred, Leftbank Bar & Restaurant – York

Mara Bethel – Atlanta

Lance Bowman, Maya Hospitality Group – Charlotte

Jesse Cyr, Foreign National – Seattle

Chelsea DeMark, Quill at the Jefferson Hotel – Washington

Jena Ellenwood, Dear Irving – New York

Anna Giordano, Longway Tavern – New Orleans

Britt Ingalls, Silver Lyan – Washington

Lauren Paylor, Silver Lyan – Washington

Jessica Pomerantz, Black Rooster – West Columbia

SEE ALSO

Aromatic notes of cognacs

INFOGRAPHY | Discover the full range of cognac's aromatic notes...

July 2029. I was at the Tales of the Cocktail

JULY 2019 With spirits professionals and connoisseurs from around the world...

“Cognac Pairing” in your pocket

TECH | Match flavors and taste from your phone with our app...
comment

Logo du disclamer
Pour visiter ce site vous devez avoir l'âge légal pour acheter et consommer de l'alcool. S'il n'existe pas de législation à cet égard dans votre pays, vous devez être âgé de 18 ans au moins.
L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé, à consommer avec modération.

Chroniques

Octobre 2020. Je vous raconte le Cognac Connection Challenge

Partager

La journaliste new-yorkaise Amanda Schuster a suivi l’édition 2020 du Cognac Connection Challenge. Une compétition initiée pour soutenir les barmen américains dans le contexte de crise du Covid-19 en leur donnant l’occasion d’exprimer leur créativité en imaginant des cocktails à base de cognac.

Lorsque l’on demande aux gens de citer un cocktail à base de cognac, beaucoup mentionnent le Sidecar ou le French 75, parfois le Stinger. Pourtant, avec ses multiples facettes, le cognac entre dans la composition de nombreux cocktails, les mixologues jouant avec la diversité des styles.

En octobre, le Bureau National Interprofessionnel du Cognac (BNIC), en partenariat avec l’agence américaine Teuwen Communications, a ainsi  annoncé les résultats du Cognac Connection Challenge. Cette compétition, sponsorisée par VinePair et Speed Rack, avait été initiée pour soutenir les pros de la filière en leur permettant d’exprimer leur créativité en composant des cocktails inédits à base de cognac. L’événement a rassemblé plus de 120 participants, les dix premiers recevant une récompense de mille dollars ainsi qu’un voyage virtuel dans la région de Cognac. Les concurrents ont aussi profité de séminaires animés par des Cognac Educators de renom tels que Franky Marshall ou Kellie Thorn.

« Sortir de leur zone de confort »

Le jury, composé d’experts, était constitué du Cognac Educator Kellie Thorn (Hugh Acheson, dont les restaurants sont situés à Athens et Atlanta dans l’État de Géorgie), du journaliste de VinePair Tim McKirdy ainsi que des deux cofondatrices de Speed Rack : Ivy Mix, copropriétaire du Leyenda à New York, et Lynette Marrero, barmaid au Llama Inn à New York. « Le volet pédagogique de l’événement a eu beaucoup de succès », indique cette dernière qui, remarquant que les dotations ont pu motiver les pros à s’inscrire, estime aussi que nombreux sont les barmen à avoir mis à profit la fermeture de leurs établissements pour se former.

Ivy Mix fait le même constat. « Les pros ont appris des choses ! Ils ont fait des expériences ! Je pense vraiment qu’ils ont pu découvrir de nouveaux aspects du cognac. Et il existe une telle variété d’usages, qu’il s’agisse d’une utilisation en cocktails ou en long drink ! »

Tim McKirdy appuie : « La compétition semble avoir poussé les candidats à s’intéresser en profondeur à l’univers du Cognac, les amenant à mieux appréhender la diversité des styles ou des producteurs et ainsi à sortir de leur zone de confort. »

Selon le règlement du Cognac Connection Cocktail Challenge, les cocktails présentés devaient associer le cognac et six ingrédients au maximum, facilement accessibles. La consigne s’est révélée porteuse.

Pour Tim McKirdy, beaucoup de créations ont une approche qualifiée de culinaire. « La création de sirops et d’infusions maison fait évidemment partie de la panoplie des mixologues depuis longtemps déjà, mais j’ai vraiment été impressionné par le savoir-faire en la matière des concurrents. » En particulier, il dit avoir été sensible au fait que certains barmen ont osé des profils organoleptiques atypiques en employant par exemple des solutions salines ou d’autres ingrédients très salés dans leurs créations. « En tant qu’ancien chef, c’est une démarche qui m’intéresse énormément, d’autant plus quand on considère le lien qu’il existe en France entre l’univers de la cuisine et celui des vins ou des spiritueux entre la gastronomie et les boissons en France. » 

Les restrictions sanitaires liées à la crise du Covid-19 empêchent les barmen de converser avec les clients assis au comptoir. Or, ce sont ces échanges qui souvent donnent naissance aux compositions les plus créatives, celles qui ne sont pas sur les cartes. Autrement dit, la culture du cocktail souffre de cette absence d’émulation propre à l’univers du bar. Aussi, si un événement tel que le Cognac Connection Cocktail Challenge permet de soutenir matériellement des professionnels touchés par la crise, elle leur permet également de réveiller une fibre créative en sommeil depuis de trop longs mois. Ivy Mix, qui note une tendance à la hausse de la consommation de  cocktails à base de cognac au Leyenda, ne dit pas autre chose : « Les compétitions comme celle-ci permettent aux barmen de prouver qu’ils sont toujours créatifs et toujours en train de créer. Nous le prouvons à nos collègues, et nous le prouvons à nos patrons ! C’est une formidable opportunité. » 

Les dix barmens lauréats

Meghann Allred, Leftbank Bar & Restaurant – York

Mara Bethel – Atlanta

Lance Bowman, Maya Hospitality Group – Charlotte

Jesse Cyr, Foreign National – Seattle

Chelsea DeMark, Quill at the Jefferson Hotel – Washington

Jena Ellenwood, Dear Irving – New York

Anna Giordano, Longway Tavern – Nouvelle-Orléans

Britt Ingalls, Silver Lyan – Washington

Lauren Paylor, Silver Lyan – Washington

Jessica Pomerantz, Black Rooster – West Columbia

à découvrir également

Juillet 2019. J’étais à Tales of the Cocktail

JUILLET 2019 Avec des professionnels et amateurs de spiritueux du monde entier...

Introduction au cognac

INFOGRAPHIE | Les clés pour apprécier le cognac...

Décembre 2020. Cognac Bartender Contest

DÉCEMBRE 2020 Cognac Bartender Contest...
commentaire